degree of urbanisation (ESL-rate by residence)

Search this site by keywords using the advanced search

Eurostat report breakdowns of early school leaving, broken down by degree of urbanization:

The Degree of urbanisation classifies local administrative units as cities, towns and suburbs, or rural areas based on a combination of geographical contiguity and minimum population thresholds applied to 1 km² population grid cells.

The categories are defined as follows (original source: Glossary of the Eurostat Statistics Explained):

  1. Cities: at least 50% of the population live in an urban area (alternative name: densely-populated areas)
  2. Towns and suburbs: less than 50% live in an urban centre but more than 50% of the population live in an urban cluster (alternative name: intermediate density areas)
  3. Rural areas: more than 50% of the population live in rural grid cells (alternative name: thinly populated areas)

Each urban centre should have at least 75% of its population in an urban setting. This ensures that all urban centres are represented by at least one town, even when this urban centre represents less than 50% of the population of an LAU2.

See more details here: Degree of urbanisation and here Degree of urbanisation classification - 2011 revision 

See more Eurostat data by degree of urbanization here: Degree of urbanisation > database

If you are interested in the country context, have a look at into our short report on the basis of the ESLplus Interactive statistics module. 

Back to glossary

The ESLplus portal uses cookies to improve your user experience in compliance with our data protection regulation. Cookies help us to personalise content, to monitor our website traffic using web analytics services, and to improve site functionality. By clicking on the "accept cookies" button, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms and Conditions.